Baking with Grandma

I think it’s important for kids to know the stories behind the pictures, especially those that were taken when they were too young to remember, and/or they show someone that is no longer here with us. This page has both.

My sweet daughter was 4 years old in these pictures and she was baking with my mother-in-law who sadly passed away later that same year. Sadie knows she adored her grandma, but she doesn’t really remember here. So, I try to tell the whole story behind the pictures we have of her with her grandma.

baking with grandma 4

This day was a special one and so I had 5×7’s printed. I loved the red in my daughter’s Christmas turtle neck, so I thought I’d use that great big cardstock flower paper. I like color and I use a lot of it, so red and yellow became red, yellow, and blue, which became…well you get the point.

I dug through my scrap paper pin and found lots and lots of papers I wanted to use so I cut out a bunch of 2×2″ squares. At first I was just going to decorate a few random squares, but my embellishment hand became heavier and heavier. I had so much fun adding stickers and veneers and buttons and ribbons and more. I also added two of my fabric embellishments, one cupcake and one apron.

I’ve added more pictures below to show how it started and a few close-ups.

baking with grandma 3

baking with grandma 2

Leave a Reply

