Sad Faced Me

How often do you look at the albums you’ve made? If you’re like me, not very often.

I started scrapbooking about 15 years ago. Since then I’ve done many, many pages. (I should count them someday.) Through the years I’ve worked with a variety of mediums, products, and techniques. I can honestly say I’ve learned a lot, about life and paper crafting.

Today I was looking through my albums, something I don’t do very often. I looked at some of my very first pages I ever did today, and I was saddened by the state they were in. Especially since I don’t have digital copies of them, and they were my daughter’s baby pictures. I didn’t get a digital camera until she was 2, so those earlier photos are priceless.

baby page rippled picAnd, being so new to the craft as I was, I didn’t consider some of the things I did that could have really damaged my precious pictures. First of all, I used a glue stick, and I used a lot of it! You can see in the picture below how there are ripples in the photograph. It actually looks much worse in person, and this is all from the glue I was using. How sad?!

You can’t see it very well, but the photo is totally rippled. Stinkin’ glue!

Then there were the beads I liked to use. I loved to string beads or put them on wire and frame photos with them or, as shown in two of the photos below, I would stitch them on with fancy ‘fibers’. baby page beads 2

baby page beads 1

I had always heard that if you used anything that would cause a bump, especially a sharp one like those a bead might make, you should store your albums standing up on a shelf and not shoved in there tightly. Storing them tightly shut or lying down could cause the 3D embellishments to puncture other photos in the album. So, much to the annoyance of my husband, I always insist they be stored carefully.

Apparently it wasn’t careful enough. As I looked closer I noticed that some of my photos had been punctured, and it broke my heart! Especially because the picture that was punctured was from a photo shoot my friend did of my daughter. It was a special day, a special friend, and very special pictures.

So, I decided to take the offending (and offended) pages apart and re-scrapbook them–more carefully. I think it’s silly to redo your pages just because the styles change, but if you’re worried that your priceless photos are being harmed or have the potential to be, you might want to think about it.

So what are your thoughts? Do you use 3D embellishments? Are any of your older pages not holding up as well as you thought?

Right now my rippled pictures are being flattened in a big book and I’m currently working on remaking my other pages. I’ll be really happy to get them done and back in the album. Then I’ll really think twice about the embellishments and adhesives I use in the future:)

3 comments

Leave a Reply

