On Choosing Colors

Sometimes it’s super hard to pick the right colors of paper and embellishments to go with a particular picture or group of pictures. Especially when there are multiple themes you could go with.

I have a few pics that I’ve been wanting to scrapbook, but have gone back-and-forth on the colors I wanted to use.

And if I was just going to choose colors based on the picture I probably would have gone with the pink of my daughter’s shirt. But, my husband is also in the pictures so I didn’t want to go all pink. Plus, we were fishing in Wyoming and on a road trip, but I didn’t want to do just a fishing theme or road trip theme, see where I’m going with this? It was a challenge.

You can see that the picture does not go with a fishing theme.

image

Nor does it go well with a travel theme.

image

The two main colors in the picture are green and pink, but I’ve never really loved them together…until now! I started to play around with the two colors, not only how they looked together but how they worked with the pictures as well. I was pleasantly surprised!

 

pink green pageI love how this page turned out. It took me awhile because I had to really dig through my embellishments to find enough green and pink to work with. I wanted to build a sort-of puzzle border around the photos, and I didn’t want them to overlap.

Supplies used:

Teresa Collins Nine and Co Collection pink sequins

Bella Blvd Flirty stickers

Echo Park So Happy Together stickers

October Afternoon Woodland Park stickers (discontinued)

Bella Blvd Christmas Cheer Cardstock Stickers 12×12 Treasures & Text

Bella Blvd Tiny Tots Cardstock Stickers 12×12 Treasures & Texts

Glitz Design Stickers Finley 12×12 Alphabets & Words

Vintage lace and ribbon

Pink rik rak

Buttons & flatbacks

Silk flower

I had so much fun creating it and I hope to do another page similar to this one. There are a lot of ways you could translate this sketch. You could make a smaller border, or one where the embellishments overlap like a collage. Or you could put the photos in the center of the page and create a border that extends all the way to the edges. There’s no small number of possibilities.
I was inspired to create this page by one I saw on Pinterest, from gossamerblue.com. Here it is:

Leave a Reply

