Are Your Pages on Trend?

If you do a search on Pinterest or Instagram or Google, chances are you’ll find a bunch of pages that look very similar. I don’t know when pages all started looking the same, but it makes me a little sad. It’s not that I don’t like the trends, in fact I really like them, it’s just that I don’t want to feel like my pages have to look like everyone else’s pages.

Do you ever feel that way?

My mission is to lay down stories and memories, and to get as many pictures into albums as I can. Like most people I have thousands of pictures waiting to be in albums. I don’t have time to make tons of pages with only one picture on them. Unless the photo is a super special one, I’m going to put more than that on a page. I want to tell the whole story, and sometimes it takes a lot of pictures to do that.

And I like to make each page unique, but I find myself comparing my pages to all of the other ones online and thinking that I need to get those embellishments and those papers.

I think a new scrapbooker would come on to the scene and think that to make a page requires a certain formula: First you lay down color with ink, paint, or gelatos; then you create layers of papers varying in size and pattern; next you put the picture down and surround it with clusters of embellishments; lastly, add another cluster in the corner and finish it off with a title made of thickers.

I also wonder about the photos that are ending up on pages. I think if you’re a chef or a gourmet foodie, pictures of food might be completely warranted. Likewise, if you design shoes or have a broken ankle, a photo looking down at your feet might be a story to tell. But, I sometimes wonder if people looking at albums years from now will understand it?

Will they understand why there is a deer head sticker on a page about a 2-year-old’s birthday party? I’m not sure. Does the deer head look so cute and trendy right now? Yes. But I don’t want to have to explain to someone looking at my album years down the line that deer heads were so in and it was really cool at the time.

I like to think of the story of what is going on in the pictures, and then tell that story. I love to include random embellishments here and there, but I don’t want to feel like I have to in order for my pages to get a ‘like’ online.

What do you think? I’d love to hear others’ opinions on this!

4 comments

  1. I think this really depends. There are some people who really like to have a page with lots of things in them, so they break out a lot of supplies and use them on the page instead of say just hoarding them. Your point about the deer head really does hit home for me though, so thank you for that. I guess I will be even more conscious now about what I put on my page!

    I’m no supply junkie, so I don’t use a lot of what you might call trendy supplies. If anything, I try to make my pages my own but creating my own whenever I need something that either cannot be store bought or I don’t have it store bought. e.g. drawing/designing my own title, drawing and colouring my own embellishments that matches the stories I’m trying to tell. I also don’t think that you need to worry about whether people will understand the story to tell. If it end up on the scrapbook, that means the story is told right? Like through the title, through the journaling, through the photos. Isn’t that why we scrapbook?

    I get your worry about trend, and I do sometimes wish that I can be part of that trend too. But I have managed to cope on my own without totally conforming to the trend per se. Perhaps a little inspired by them, but they are all synthesised into a the way that makes it mine. At least, that’s how I look at it.

    Once again, thank you for sharing this (:

    • I think we are on the same page, and I really appreciate your comment. I am a supply junkie, or wish that I could be, but I can’t ever buy all that I want. But, to be honest, I love a lot of the trends! I guess I just don’t want to be distracted from my goal of telling the story, I want to maintain my original purpose. I love to make my own embellishments too! I’d love to see what you’ve made. And you’re so right about the title, journaling, and pictures telling the story, thanks for that!

      • I find lots of similarities between us 😉 I understand the part about wishing to be a supply junkie. I think if I was older when I first started all this, I would really be one. Still a student now so I don’t have a income so my early stages have been to work around my budget so I learnt a lot that way too. Now that I really think about it, I think I shall stick with this even when I start earning money too, to not fall into the trappings of trend. Thanks for the timely reminder (:

      • I totally agree! My budget is a lot smaller than other scrappers, but I hope that, even if I had a huge amount of money to put into scrapbooking, that I would still try to be frugal and sensible. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

