Make a Cake!

If you’ve read much of my blog, you know that I quite like to make embellishments. In fact I have hundreds of little embellishments that I’ve created, more than I could ever use.

Here is one that is really simple to make. I made this birthday cake out of fabric, ribbon, and rik rak. It’s very bright and bold, but you could make it any color you want. I had a little boy in mind when I made this using blue, orange, green, red and yellow, but it would work just as well for a little girl’s page. This is a great way to use some of your fabric scraps.

I like to just freehand cut my fabric into shapes but if you want you can draw on the back of the fabric before you cut; make sure to use a fabric pen or a very light marker so it doesn’t show on the front side.

DSC08474I cut 3 rectangular-ish shapes made to look like the layers of a cake, the top one came out to be more like a square.

Then, I added some rik rak and ribbon along the top edge of each piece to make it look like colorful frosting. I stacked one on top of the other, largest to smallest.You might need to use a piece of scrap paper or fabric in the back on which to attach the three pieces, even if it’s just a strip that holds them all together.

Finally, I cut out a number 1. Again, I did this freehand, but if you want you can draw it on the back and then cut it out. You can put any number on top, or leave it off if you want. You could also cut out some candles or even use stickers or other embellishments for the topper.

This cake is listed in my Etsy store, but you can make it yourself too! Check out my other embellishments in my store: JunkyardStitches.

What do you think about handmade fabric embellishments? Comment below:)

Leave a Reply

